Day 5: Passion

 “I am passionate about ______________. “

This morning, my best friend, Priscilla, asked me about the run down of my day. As I told her the general timeline, I added that in between, I am to write a blog about what I’m passionate about.

Without blinking, my best friend, of 15 years listed three things: Jesus, helping people, and food.

Great outline, best!

When I think of passion, I think of excitement that just seeps out of your pores! I think of something that is so exciting you can’t wait to tell people about it.

I am passionate about trying new/different food. And I love chronicling it. With my sunglasses, I nicknamed Sunny the sunglasses, as my foodie mascot. It all started in the lovely island of Puerto Rico, this past May for my friend, Karenie’s wedding. Pictured below from top to bottom: 1. Today, at Juice Box with Alice and Joel. Shaved ice, condensed milk, variety of fruit, plus ice cream on top. 2. Homemade breakfast made by Tosin, enjoyed by me and Lori. Scrambled eggs, avocado, and toast with almond butter (I believe it was almond butter). 3. Crawfish on the 4th of July 4. Panfried Seafood Noodles 5. Mofongo Churrasco in Ponce, Puerto Rico

foodie foodie2 foodie3 foodie4 foodie5

I am passionate about people. I love helping people, this is true. More importantly, the Lord has wired me to be passionate about people’s stories and their hearts. Every single person has a story, and as introverted as I am, I am passionate about getting to the heart of a person, if they allow me the privilege to journey with them. More specifically, I am truly passionate about the people of Kenya. I left a piece of my heart there. I am so in love with the Maasai.

masai

I love how the Lord is so present in Kenya. I went to Kenya with the sheer expectation that I was going to serve them. There was no preparing my heart for how they served me. They showed me what walking through life in faith looked like. They showed me that though they did not have many material possessions, they were so wealthy because they have the love of Christ. In this picture, the Maasai children were performing for us. Songs about hunting, mostly. And then, their beautiful voices, sang “Jesus loves Me”, in English. At that moment, in the middle of the Maasai Mara dessert, in the middle of Kenya, Jesus was present. Someone who was obedient, told them the story of Jesus Christ. And it reached the expanse of the Maasai Mara desert. Conviction set in to be more bold about Jesus in America.

For this is what the Lord has commanded us: I have made you a light for the Gentiles to bring salvation to the ends of the earth. (Acts 13:47)

Which brings me to..

I am passionate about JESUS. Passion actually equates to Jesus and his life story. The concept that God put on flesh, came down from the heavenlies, and into our lowly, small, fallible, finite planet, to walk amongst His imperfect children; only to sacrifice Himself on the cross for the sins of the past, present, and future. The consequence for my sins is death. But Jesus loves me so much, that He died, so I wouldn’t have to. (He did this for you, too; just in case you’re wondering.)

His perfect blood is the perfect sacrifice for the ugly and fleshy sins that people choose over Him every single day. This is the true definition of passion. The perfect illustration of passion. When I think of His heroic sacrifice and the passion that Jesus has for us, it just ignites a fire in me to love others the way He loves. Sacrificially. with compassion, with forgiveness, and unconditionally. My imperfect heart will always fail, because I am human. But Jesus covers all imperfections.

God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. (Romans 5:8)

The wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 6:23)

For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God. (2 Corinthians 5:21)

Brave Love Blog

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Love it! I just did the laziest post on this one. I will add some stuff tomorrow. I love you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

