Day 6: Currently…..

A “currently…” post. Tell us what you’re loving, hating, reading, eating, etc.

I am basking in the glory that is a Sabbath day. Before this season, I clocked in many hours at work and I was wearing down, slowly and surely. All of the advice from my professors, pre-career, about the importance of self care went out the window.

But I’ve got my groove back. And today is my day of rest. Cleaning and errands, sure. But beautiful and satisfying rest. Yesterday, I had such sweet time with my dear friend, Alice (who is also blogging for blogtember). And we talked about how this blogging challenge has very much surged the flow of creativity. I feel like for the past two years, my creativity has been stunted.

Stunted from busy-ness.

Stunted from exhaustion.

Stunted from responsibilities.

Alice is a photographer, so we share so much of the same heart. And talking to her about her photo shoot made me want to pick up my Nikon. And shoot.

It used to be, when I looked out into the world, I would see life in photographs. How life would look, frozen, in time. I would drive, see a couple sitting on their front porch, and screen capture with my eyes. Then I would imagine how I would edit this black and white photograph in the dark room. The dark room was my safe space back then. Where I would spend hours on end, trying to create the most perfect version of a faulty negative. Isn’t that such a perfect illustration of life? From negatives come beautiful images.

I found some old black and white photos today.

empire lillybw ballet lyn

 

I digress. This is supposed to be a “current post”. Here we go…

I am currently….

…reading…Becoming God’s True Woman by Nancy Leigh DeMoss. I am going through this book with my amazing mentor, Edna! I’m four chapters in. And the 4th chapter has really captured my heart in how to be a Godly woman with using Mary as a Biblical example. Can we say conviction? I’m also reading 2 Timothy with my girls. This precious book has shown me such a sweet side of the apostle Paul and his words have captivated me to focus on how to live life for Christ and stand for Him.

…watching…My favorite reality show is The Real Housewives of Atlanta. But, I have decided not to invest in the next season. Watching a marathon of this show injected cattiness in my soul. I’m just not about that, right now. But believe it or not, I did learn a lot just by analyzing how arguments became so heated and pinpointing how it could have stopped. When the fall season starts, you will probably see me watching Scandal.

…trying… to be present in all situations. Trying to see what the Lord desires me to do with my time and resources.
…eating…peanut butter and jelly. It’s my jam.
pinning…recipes. Especially Crockpot recipes.
…tweeting…I had a twitter for two minutes to put up the ridiculous things I hear at my job. No one believed us.
…going… to grocery shop!
loving…connection. with my Passion family. Love you, Alice and Joel!! Spending time with them is a small glimpse of how heaven will be.  Same with my Kenya family, especially Elizabeth (her blog, aqui). And my Watermark family, who literally walk through life with me. Tosin (aka Bronze 5) and Lori (aka Bronze 3) are also blogging for Blogtember.
discovering…new international cuisine tonight! My Watermark family and I are going through an A-Z of international cuisines in the most diverse city in America. (getting down in Htown, y’all). We are starting with the letter M tonight with Malaysian food.
…enjoying…stillness.
...thinking…about nothing. It’s nice.
…feeling…peaceful
…listening…At this very moment, I’m listening to Bethel’s You Make Me Brave album, which has been on my playlist for the past two months. I’ve also been listening to Jon Thurlow’s Stand in Awe album, Rend Collective’s Campfire Album, and All Sons & Daughters, just all of their albums. In 3 days, Lecrae’s Anomaly album is dropping. That’s next 🙂
…thanking…the Lord for his blessing of community, space, and focus.
drinking…unsweet iced tea my roomie made. Thanks Jenn 🙂
needing…to spend sweet time with Jesus.

Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. (John 15:4)

 

Brave Love Blog

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Helen says:

    LOVE this post.I totally – still – practically always – take snapshots in my mind as I walk around!
    LOVE the A-Z food idea! Sounds like you lead such a creative LIFE!
    LOVING your comments on my blog – thank you xxx I will be back later to snoop around your blog some more!!! (Hope you enjoyed your Malaysian!)

    Like

    1. Malaysian was great! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

