Day 8: How Music Moves Me

Music that moves you. Are you a Spotify addict or a Pandora guru? Tell us your favorite artists/stations!

yowza

Seriously, where do I begin? I’m going to forewarn you that I will go in different tangents, but I promise that in the end, it will make sense. Stick with me.

There’s something so beautiful about music. Something so freeing. I did not really realize why music was important to me until a friend told me about the love languages of God.

I knew about love languages as a therapist. I knew my own and I knew how to help others figure it out. I never thought about using my love languages for God and how He created all the love languages, ones we don’t even know exist. Since then, He has shaped my heart to love him in each love language. My love languages, in order, are as follows:

  1. Physical Touch
  2. Words
  3. Quality Time
  4. Service
  5. Gifts

The Lord made sure to work on my weakest love language, gifts, first. With time, I have improved on showing God how much I love Him by serving Him, spending quality time with Him, tithing, and praising Him. But how do we show God we love Him with physical touch? My friend, Tashi, told me something that changed my point of view on music. We can show God how we love Him, through touch, by singing out to Him through worship and praise.

And since then, my perspective of music has completely shifted.

It is usually through worship and praise where I feel convicted and when I feel Him and His presence, which for a physical touch type of gal, means the world.

I also have a fondness for scripture that quotes things that God has said (it’s the words of affirmation in me). I feel as if it’s more personal. It’s the difference between reading about the characteristics of the Lord as opposed to seeing it. That’s why I love the book of Job so much. It’s great to see the interaction between the Lord and Job. But I love it when he speaks to you through His Word.

Isaiah 43 is my life verse. When I read this, it was at a time when I needed redemption and to know Whose I am.

Isaiah 43: 1-5

Now this is what the Lord says—
the One who created you, Jacob,
and the One who formed you, Israel—
“Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;
I have called you by your name; you are Mine.
I will be with you
when you pass through the waters,
and when you pass through the rivers,
they will not overwhelm you.
You will not be scorched
when you walk through the fire,
and the flame will not burn you.
For I Yahweh your God,
the Holy One of Israel, and your Savior,
give Egypt as a ransom for you,
Cush and Seba in your place.
Because you are precious in My sight
and honored, and I love you,
I will give people in exchange for you
and nations instead of your life.
Do not fear, for I am with you;

I’m getting to my point, I promise.

Yesterday, I wrote the following:

But for the past two years, I have been hiding.

Hiding for many reasons, one of the big reasons is healing.  Just like physical wounds need to be covered up for protection, so did my heart. Gratefully, I have the ultimate healer salving my wounds

I have had many recommendations to listen to The Undoing album by Steffany Gretzinger. I finally started listening to the album this morning and this song came on: Out of Hiding (Father’s Song)

His words. His emotions. In the form of a song.

‘Cause I loved you before you knew it was love
And I saw it all, still I chose the cross
And you were the one that I was thinking of
When I rose from the grave
Now rid of the shackles, My victory’s yours
I tore the veil for you to come close
There’s no reason to stand at a distance anymore
You’re not far from home
Keep on coming

And oh as you run
What hindered love
Will only become
Part of the story

My words will fail trying to tell you how the connecting theme of story has been so present in my current seasons.  The reoccurring themes have been focus and story. That’s how the Lord touches. With love notes, in all forms. If I had listened to this song any other time before I wrote those words last night, it would not have meant as much. But He knew. He always does. Thank you, Lord. For thinking of me this morning and leading me to this song you wanted me to hear. You’re the sweetest.

When the Lord isn’t wrecking my world with sweet messages, I’m usually listening to:

Hillsong (all of them, United and Young and Free included). Bethel. Passion. Tomlin. Crowder. Tedashii. Lecrae. All Sons & Daughters. Rend Collective. Jon Thurlow. Jimmy Needham. Ray LaMontagne. Trip Lee. JJ Heller. Shane & Shane. Philip Phillips. The Shins. Phoenix. Coldplay. Jack Johnson.  Anything nostalgic, a la boy bands, 70s-90s (are those considered oldies now)? Sinatra, Michael Jackson, Billy Joel, Beach Boys. Bennett. I’m sure I will think of more once I press submit.

 

 

Brave Love Blog

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jessica says:

    Yes, yes, yes to all of the above! I love how you incorporated Scripture. Isaiah is one of my favorite books of the Bible. So very good.

    Like

  2. Grace says:

    That song was so beautiful. It ministered to me. It has been a while since I sat and soaked in the presence of God and listened to a beautiful song like that. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    1. 🙂 I’m so glad it blessed you as it did me this morning!!

      Like

  3. Helen says:

    Love everything about this post! Especially loved your observation, ” If I had listened to this song any other time before I wrote those words last night, it would not have meant as much. But He knew. He always does”. It’s so true: we have to be in exactly the right ‘place’ for the message we need to hear enter us. Love, love, love this post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

