Day 9: ISFJ Personality

Let’s talk personality types. Introverted? Extroverted? Unsure-troverted? 😉 If you know your Myers-Briggs type, tell us about it! If not, you can take this similar test and share your results.

I took the test that is linked and I scored ISFJ:

22% Introverted

38% Sensing

62% Feeling

22% Judging

I read through the description of ISFJs and it described me, very accurately.

I took the following from this website. It’s a thorough website to read about all 16 different personality types:

16 Personalties: ISFJ

ISFJs can often be found in lines of work with a sense of history behind them, such as medicine, academics and charitable social work. However, they are unlikely to seek out managerial positions in these fields, and are still more unlikely to brag about their accomplishments – ISFJs prefer to be rewarded by seeing first-hand the positive impact of their efforts, and will remain enthusiastic simply knowing that what they do is genuinely appreciated by the people they care for.

Naturally social, an odd quality given that they are Introverted, ISFJs utilize an excellent memory not to retain data and trivia, but to remember people and details about their lives. When it comes to gift-giving, ISFJs have no equal, using their imagination and natural sensitivity to express their generosity in a way that will always touch the hearts of their recipients. While this is certainly true of their coworkers, whom ISFJs consider their personal friends more often than not, it is in family that their expression of affection blooms fully.

ISFJs’ ability to connect with others on an intimate level is unrivaled among Introverts, and the joy they experience from using those connections to maintain a supportive, happy family is a gift for everyone involved. They may never be truly comfortable in the spotlight, and may feel guilty taking due credit for a team effort, but if they can find a way to ensure that their efforts are recognized, both in the workplace and at home, ISFJs are likely to feel a level of satisfaction in what they do that many other personality types can only dream of.

Famous ISFJs: Queen Elizabeth II, Robert E. Lee, Queen Mary I, Halle Berry, Samwise Gamgee from Lord of the Rings, Dr. Watson from Sherlock

After taking the quiz initially, I clicked on career choices on different websites. The career choice at the top  of the list is consistently social work.

I just look at that and chuckle, knowing that God has graced me with a career path that He has truly wired me for. And the path to get to social work was the path that led me to Him! That I found Him while I was in nursing school at an internship while working with the Mazahua people in Mexico. That I saw Him in my dear friend, Katie, who exuded Jesus out of her smile and her kind eyes. Knowing she was different. Knowing she was weird, but in a good way. And wanting that joy.

Jesus called me that summer and I just knew that He was everything I longed for. I came back from Mexico a totally different person. I came back with Jesus. And life has not been the same since. In fact, it’s where my life truly began.

What I do is not easy work, but because God literally wired me to do the work that I do, it is consistently a joy. Even on those days when your heart breaks because she chose to go back to her abuser. Even on those days when your frustration increases because he relapsed on cocaine. Even on those days when your physical safety is threatened because your drug seeking client just wants a certain pill. I find so much joy in what I do.

And taking this personality quiz is such a sweet reminder of that.

Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain. (1 Corinthians 15:58) 

Brave Love Blog

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Helen says:

    Love your post today – what you describe is, I guess, called passion or vocation – whatever it is, you’re one brave lady xxx Oh, and I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award! http://iwillbloom.wordpress.com/2014/09/10/liebster-award-ive-been-nominated/ xxxx

    Like

    1. Wow so honored!!!! I will definitely post. Thanks Helen. And my name is marianne 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

