Day 10: J’aime

List 10 things that you love about yourself! Let’s kick that negative self-talk outta here!

One of the explanations that I read about the ISFJ personality is that people with this personality tend to downplay their abilities. So, this prompt, is super difficult for me. I really wanted to cheat and ask 10 people one thing they loved about me and just list them all. The Lord really wanted me to do it on my own. So, here it is:

I love…

…my laugh. Especially when something is so funny and I laugh so hard I can hardly breathe. It’s loud. It’s unapologetic. It’s expressive. I’m so blessed that in many aspects of my life, I can laugh authentically.

…my curly hair. I have had such a love and hate relationship with my hair growing up. But going natural has been the best decision. Trying to manipulate my hair to be straight when it’s meant to be curly can be tiresome. So I just let my hair be the way it is meant to be.

…that I am loyal. I can count on one hand how many friendships have ended in my lifetime. I’m pretty protective of my heart. Once I let someone see it, the chances of me giving up on a friendship with them is pretty slim.

…that I have the ability to adapt into different cultures. Whether it’s sleeping on cement in the Philippines, stomping on laundry to dry blankets in Kenya, or driving like a maniac in Puerto Rico, I can go with the flow. This characteristic is also important when it comes to my job. I meet so many people from different walks of life, it’s a necessity to adapt to their communication styles in order to connect with them. I can talk to a patient who is a ringleader of a gang, someone who lives in upper middle class Sugarland, and a refugee all in a work day. And in the end, they think that we are cut from the same cloth.

unfinished house. put a blanket over the floor and call it a day.

…my smile. The majority of my life, I did not really know how to smile in pictures. I don’t want to make a general statement saying that Filipinos don’t smile in pictures. But I know in my family, it took my generation to teach our older family members how to smile; by showing their teeth. This past year, we taught them how to take selfies. My family is now pretty unstoppable when it comes to pictures. Besides smiling in pictures, smiling in real life is one of my favorite things to do. It’s inviting. The other party has to reciprocate, though. I walked around Manhattan with a smile on my face and got yelled at. Use your smile, cautiously.

my mum and aunt with their “selpies”

…that I love connection. Whether it’s connecting with family across the vast expanse of the Pacific Ocean or connecting with someone I recently met, I love how my heart tries to find connections with others. No matter how different you may think you are, there’s always a common ground.

…my ability to empathize. I have a rare ability to feel people’s emotions. If the person in front of me is happy about something, I can feel the burst of joy rushing out of me. If the person in front of me is heartbroken, I can feel jabs in my heart that cause me pain, as well.

…my hugs. No, I don’t hug myself. But hugs are a tangible way for me to show how much I love you. My nieces and nephews are well aware of how much I love them because of my hugs. They don’t question it. I’m pretty affectionate with people I care about.

…my fondness of color. The brighter, the better. Life is too short for gray.

…my love for Christ. This is the foundation of why I can even love in the first place. Because Jesus is love. All the good that is in my heart is Christ and Christ alone. All the bad? That’s 100% Marianne. All the things that I have listed about myself are ONLY possible, because I am carrying Jesus in my heart.

My laugh and smile comes from the rooted joy that He has given me. (But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness – Galatians 5:22)

My appreciation for my curly hair is the gratitude that he has cultivated in my heart. (I will give to the Lord the thanks due to his righteousness, and I will sing praise to the name of the Lord, the Most High. – Psalm 7:17)

My loyalty comes from the example of his loyalty to Our Father. Jesus resisted all temptation and was loyal to His promise of being the ultimate sacrifice. (For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. -John 3:16)

My ability to adapt comes from the example of God sending Jesus to Earth. This perfect Creator putting on flesh (an Earth suit, so to speak) and coming from the vastness of heaven to the third planet of this galaxy to walk life with His creation in order to die for them. (For I have come down from heaven, not to do my own will but the will of him who sent me. – John 6:38)

My desire for connection comes from the example of Jesus wanting to connect with people that were considered the least of these. (i.e. the crippled beggar from John 5:1-15)

My ability to empathize comes from Jesus and how compassionate he is. (When Jesus saw her weeping, and the Jews who had come with her also weeping, he was deeply moved in his spirit and greatly troubled. And he said, “Where have you laid him?” They said to him, “Lord, come and see.” Jesus wept. -John 11:33-35)

My love language of touch or hugs comes from Jesus’s healing touch. (And behold, a leper came to him and knelt before him, saying, “Lord, if you will, you can make me clean.” And Jesus stretched out his hand and touched him, saying, “I will; be clean.” And immediately his leprosy was cleansed. -Matthew 8:2-3)

My fondness of color comes from appreciating his very creation. He is the best artist, after all (In the beginning God created… -Genesis 1:1)

It’s often said, that you can’t love fully, unless you have seen love. I have seen it. Felt it. Heard it. Touched it. Even tasted it.  In Jesus.

We love because he first loved us.

-1 John 4:19

 

Brave Love Blog

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Your blog posts are always so lovely, just like the author.

    Like

    1. 🙂 thanks sissy. Takes a lovely to know the lovely

      Like

  2. charlotte says:

    Hey there I nominated you for the leibster award. charlsparkle.blogspot.com

    Like

    1. Thanks for the honor! I will post soon 🙂

      Like

  3. Helen says:

    Lovely, uplifting post! What a beautiful smile you have (what lovely photos!)…..and your hair?! Wow! [Mine is a straight as a poker and so, so boring!]…..did you see your award, BTW? I left it in a comment for you….

    Like

Leave a Reply

