Day 11: the meaning in my life, the inspiration

How do you stay inspired? Who inspires you most?

As I’ve said in previous posts, my creativity has been stifled for the past two years. But when I did have a surge of inspiration, it usually came from…

Pinterest!

pinterest
pinterest

Pinterest is a beautiful marriage of taking the ideas in my brain and making them tactile and organizing them into visual boards.

On my boards, I have the inspiration to create a cozy home, make unique artwork, and cook delicious food. It also has a list of places I want to travel to. It has photographs that inspire me to take pictures. It has scripture to get me through the long days.  It even has ideas for the wedding of my dreams.

It has a visual representation of accomplishments I have completed, such as deliver a baby. (Yes, I have delivered 3.) It also has a visual representation of things I want to do in the future, such as set foot on all 7 continents. (It will happen).

This board inspires me to continuously dream. I may never step foot in 7 continents, if it’s not in the Lord’s will. But it can’t hurt for me to dream about it.

This is where I get my inspiration to create. Create a safe space. Create photographs. Create gifts.

A writer that I admire greatly is Ann Voskamp. She inspires me to write stories and have a love for words. She does it so well, she makes it look simple. And it is not. Her blog is here.

A woman I look up to is my mother. She and I are wired so differently. But the generosity of her heart is truly unmatched. My mother would give her loved ones everything she owns. And more often than not, she does. Her sacrifice to find a better life for us is something I will never be able to repay her for. The American dream was her inspiration. And I am the product of it. Though they told her she would not make it. My mother inspires me to give, with the only motive being to give because of love. She also inspires me to chase dreams that are deemed impossible.

mummy

Though Pinterest is a great medium, and Ann and my mother are women who inspire me to be a better woman, my inspiration comes from the Hands that made the stars. This blog is a testimony of how He inspires and how He moves. The Holy Spirit is truly the source of inspiration for all things. Something as simple as a text or a phone call will be a prompt by the Holy Spirit. Starting this blog was a prompt from Him. My desire to shoot pictures with my Nikon is a desire that was gifted. He is my inspiration to love and love well. He is my inspiration to create. He is my inspiration to connect. He is my inspiration to be still. He is my inspiration to be His vessel.

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body. – 1 Corinthians 6: 19-20

Brave Love Blog

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Helen says:

    Wonderful post. I would – honestly – like to thank, personally, the people who developed Pinterest! Loved the blog you linked to (thank you!) and you made me cry, with those beautiful words about your Mum xxx

    Like

  2. Jessica says:

    This is so sweet. Your mama is so precious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

