Day 12 traditions flourish connection

Tell us about a favorite tradition. It could be a family tradition or from a holiday, university, you-name-it. What makes it so special?

I think what makes traditions flourish is connection. Its the concept of a group of people who have something in common and making the intentional decision to ensure that connection happens.

One tradition I love is carving a pumpkin with my niece, Lilly. Every year we go to our favorite pumpkin patch and pick a pumpkin to make a jack-o-lantern. My sister, Jackie’s family has since grown and Jacob, my nephew, is a part of the tradition.

IMG_1284.JPG

IMG_1282.JPGIMG_1283.JPG

In college, the high school friends who stuck around in Houston, started a tradition of meeting every Friday. We called ourselves the Friday Crew. And we met every. single. Friday.

It was such sweet time. Such sweet fellowship. And we have seen each other go through many many seasons. Graduations. Marriages. Birthdays galore.

IMG_1287.JPG

IMG_1288.JPG

IMG_1285.JPG

IMG_1286.JPG

IMG_1289.JPG

IMG_1291.JPG

IMG_1290.JPG

My favorite tradition is going to church. Historically, I’m not sure when it started. I’m not sure how it was decided that Sundays were the days to go to church. I can follow up with that, soon.

But there was a time when I was younger that I dreaded going to church. It was a duty, not a delight for me to go. But I did not connect with God. I didn’t know how to!

And now, I hate missing it. Why? Because like all traditions, this is where connection in my life happens. Connection with our Creator. Connection with the body of people that we call the church. It’s where transparency happens. It’s where life happens. It’s where transformative miracles happen.

IMG_1292.JPG

This weekend, we get to see one of our sweet friends, Yen, get baptized!! Exciting!!!

Traditions flourish connection. Connection is a God given gift:

John 13:34-35 A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.

Leave a Reply

