Livejournal, Xanga, and a new headboard

Sept 14th: When did you start blogging and why?

Sundays are not so still. I meet with my church family and it is jam packed with sweet fellowship. My heart was full. It was also sweet Eva’s birthday and it was a privilege to spend it with her.

IMG_1394.JPG
These girls are so precious to me. We are going through a study that requires a lot of transparency and vulnerability. Somehow, the Lord knit us all together, and life has not been the same since.

My sweet roommate and I also had some sweet quality time together.
This is why I could not write
yesterday.

So…blogging.

Blogging has been around before Facebook was invented. Surprised? I remember blogging was so popular in high school. Everyone had a Livejournal or a Xanga, wHeRe eVeRyBoDy TyPeD lYke tHiS aNd wE aLL thOugHt iT wAs So KeWL.

I don’t think my posts were that annoying.

It was a way for our friends to know what we were doing while we were not at school together. And there were times when we posted more than once a day to do real time updates. Oh, pre-Twitter days.

It was a space to vent frustrations and scream rants of teenage angst. It was a space to talk about THE song that defined you. My formative years of high school were defined by Weezer’s Pinkerton album.

I’m sure I can log in to my livejournal accounts, if I wanted to. But, I’d rather not. Though many posts will send me down memory lane, many of them will probably break my heart.

Pre-Jesus, I was pretty angry. And I was transparent enough to not hide it. Though at the time, I did not know why. That was the most authentic part of me. Everything else was a mask. So much so that I fooled myself into thinking that the mask was my true self.

Soon, social media came into our lives and blogging became more intentional. It wasn’t just a medium to post whatever you felt like. Theme blogs became popular. Whether it was about crafting or DIY projects. There wasn’t such a need to post frequent entries, because status updates did that for you.

Then life happened. College happened. Grad school happened. Work happened. And those blogs in my life became a thing of the past.

Then I started journaling. Journaling in the form of writing thoughts and prayer requests to Our Creator. And that is where all my energy went.

I put my blogs under construction, because I was under construction. And it has been such a productive time of processing.

It will be interesting how The Lord will use this blog as a medium after the challenge. But it’s truly a desire that He has put in my heart. Because, one day, I will want to look back to see how far He has taken me in the story He wrote for me. Sometimes, it’s great to peruse through the old chapters. And there’s no way to do that without chronicling it.

Do not let kindness and truth leave you; Bind them around your neck, Write them on the tablet of your heart. Proverbs 3:3

Sept 15th: Make a mood board. Are you brainstorming a room re-do, or are you dreaming of glamping with gal-pals? Share a collage of any kind!

It’s beautiful how The Lord puts people together. I have been praying about moving in closer to the city and moving in an apartment by myself. As an introvert, who is social, The Lord gave me opportunities where I had the apartment all to myself for almost a week.

I. Hated. It.

I ended up watching way too much Hulu and Netflix. And I wanted to run out of the apartment and see people.

One day, on a Thursday, as I was eating dinner with my accountability partner, Lori, we went to her place and found ourselves in the living room with Eva and Christeen.

Somehow the conversation was led to the possibility of moving in together. After much prayer, the four of us have taken a leap of faith and we are all going to live together.

IMG_1383.JPG

Our hearts desire is to cultivate a place of peace. A place where we can gather for Bible Study, a place where if there are people in need, we would help those in need with the extra resources we have. We want our place to be open and we want to cultivate such hearts of hospitality that everyone who walks through the space feels as if this home were theirs as well.

We haven’t found the place, quite, yet. But we already have a Pinterest Board for our new home. We are trusting that The Lord completely provides in finding our next home.

The collage I made is a splatter of ideas for a new headboard.

IMG_1409.JPG
It will probably be a DIY headboard. So grateful that one of my to-be-roomies is super crafty. Holla Christeen!

There are many unknowns in our season and we are praying that all arrows point to Christ.

That you may welcome her in the Lord in a way worthy of the saints, and help her in whatever she may need from you, for she has been a patron of many and of myself as well. (Romans 16:2)

Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers, for thereby some have entertained angels unawares. (Hebrews 13:2)

Leave a Reply

