Day 18: traveling

Tell a tale of traveling, a city or country you’ve been to or a favorite vacation.

I have had the amazing privilege of traveling to many countries. I caught the traveling bug in early adulthood, around the same time my parents did, and we went everywhere together. And if there was a traveling opportunity to go with my friends, I would do so. I never turned a traveling opportunity down.

One traveling opportunity that will always stick out to me is my mission trip in Kenya.

I talk about this trip, pretty obnoxiously. It was a mission trip I went on over a year ago. And it still has imprints on my heart.

The reason why this trip is so important is because it’s my first (and not my last) mission trip. It was the first time I completely heard the Lord impress on my heart that I was to go on this trip.

I heard him whisper Africa in my heart. I was interested in Sudan and filled out the interest form. Then the missions coordinator at my church called me and said Kenya.

Kenya? Why Kenya? I told him I would pray about it over the weekend.

By the end of the weekend, I knew. Kenya.

Then it was the daunting mission of fundraising.

And miraculously, I only asked 5 people for money, and raised 100%. Because of a generous donor, I barely knew, who gave 75% of the money. Thousands of dollars, y’all. This taught me such humility. I wanted to give everything back to them! I wanted to babysit for them, give them tons of souvenirs. But the Lord taught me about gifts. And how it would not be a gift if I were to somehow pay them back through a service.

With the money raised, I was ready for Kenya.

The team that went to Kenya was so God ordained. It was the true representation of the body of Christ. Every person was a body part. Every one had a talent that was absolutely needed!

And we all came together, because Jesus called us to.

We served in Mukuru slums, which is the second biggest slum in Nairobi, after Kibera slums, where we met Joseph and Mary, missionaries that gave up their entire life of comfort in order to serve the people in Mukuru with healthcare, a school for the children, a rescue center for abandoned girls, and a church.

We then went to Little Eden Orphanage and loved on children who had no families by doing Bible Study with them. We spent about a week there.

We then went to His Cherished Ones in Nakuru, Kenya. An orphanage that assists with international adoptions.

And the Masaai Mara, where we met Thomas, a brother in Christ, who is from the Masaai tribe, and who is spreading good news to his people.

Through it all, I was humbled by how much faith they had. I was honored to see how their hearts completely loved Jesus, though they were “the least of these”. And it wrecked me.

I’m awaiting to see where the Lord will take me. I yearn to continue to serve my King, wherever he takes me. I suspect, it will not be in this country. But, if He leads me to serve here, the countries are at my feet in this city.

And he said to them, “Go into all the world and proclaim the gospel to the whole creation. (Mark 16:15)

Masaii children at school
Masaii children at school
Thomas and his son
Thomas and his son
Mary and Joseph, receiving supplies needed for their rescue home in Mukuru Slums
Mary and Joseph, receiving supplies needed for their rescue home in Mukuru Slums
Mukuru Slums
Mukuru Slums
Belinda, me, and Megan. Counseling team for the girls rescued in Mukuru
Belinda, me, and Megan. Counseling team for the girls rescued in Mukuru
Milka and Jacinta
Milka and Jacinta
at Little Eden Orphanage
at Little Eden Orphanage
Elizabeth with the craft of the day
Elizabeth with the craft of the day
Me and Liam at His Cherished ones
Me and Liam at His Cherished ones
sweet boys
sweet boys
His Cherished Ones Team
His Cherished Ones Team
The children of Little Eden's
The children of Little Eden’s
Paul and Ann
Paul and Ann
Kenya Team 2013
Kenya Team 2013
Leigh, Thomas, and Paul
Leigh, Thomas, and Paul
At Thomas's Village in Masai Mara
At Thomas’s Village in Masai Mara
Crafts team
Crafts team
Campfire
Campfire
on our way to Masai Mara
on our way to Masai Mara
Praying over the girls at Mukuru
Praying over the girls at Mukuru

 

Brave Love Blog

Leave a Reply

