day 19: Do NOT read beauty magazines, they will only make you feel ugly.

If you could give one piece of advice to a large group of people, what would it be?

I do not like giving unsolicited advice.

But if I had to, here it is:

Drink lots of water.

That’s it. That advice will never change over time. We will always need water.

Not only do I mean the physical water that we drink, but I also mean the Living Water. With Christ, I will never thirst. He supplies all my needs, abundantly. He pours into my soul. By His grace and in His name, I am able to pour out, as well.

On the last and most important day of the festival, Jesus stood up and cried out, “If anyone is thirsty, he should come to Me and drink!  The one who believes in Me, as the Scripture has said, will have streams of living water flow from deep within him.”  He said this about the Spirit. Those who believed in Jesus were going to receive the Spirit,for the Spirit had not yet been received because Jesus had not yet been glorified. (John 7: 37-39)

Jesus answered, “If you knew the gift of God, and who is saying to you, ‘Give Me a drink,’ you would ask Him, and He would give you living water.”

“Sir,” said the woman, “You don’t even have a bucket, and the well is deep. So where do You get this ‘living water’? You aren’t greater than our father Jacob, are You? He gave us the well and drank from it himself, as did his sons and livestock.”

 Jesus said, “Everyone who drinks from this water will get thirsty again.  But whoever drinks from the water that I will give him will never get thirsty again—ever! In fact, the water I will give him will become a well of water springing up within him for eternal life.” (John 4: 10-14)

That’s the best advice I could give you. It’s infallible. It’s eternity. Jesus is everything you are seeking for, I’m living proof of that. But somehow, if that’s still not enough, allow me to introduce (or re-introduce) you to a song by one of my favorite directors, Baz Luhrmann.

His advice still holds true, over 15 years later. Especially…the sunscreen.

Leave a Reply

