Days 23 and 24: In my City

A guide to your city! Share some of the hot-spots and hidden gems of where you live. And Your fall bucket list. What do you want to do before winter rolls around?

I love Houston.

People who are from Houston, also love Houston. Well, most of us anyways. There’s something about this city that is home.

One of my dear friends, Eduardo (Lalo) is coming back to Houston on Sunday for three months to do an internship in the medical center (one of the biggest in the world, just saying.) And since he has such a short amount of time in this city, we made a short list of must do things while he is here. Which is the combination the two blog posts I missed. Hotspots and a bucket list πŸ™‚

1. Fat Cat Creamery. My friends and I love this ice cream shop. It’s got unique ice cream flavors and we have had some joyful moments on their porch over the summer. Moments of connection. Moments of heart break. Moments of sheer joy. Just moments. We shall have another moment with Eduardo.

2. Mamak Malaysian Cuisine and other A-Z restaurants. What I love about this city is diversity. It is our mission to try as many cuisines as humanly possible in the alphabet and in the world. The first one was Mamak. We will be taking Eduardo there, for sure. This city is not really big on tourism. But we can take you around the world in our metropolis.

3. Christmas lights at River Oaks and Lights at the Heights. Around Christmas time, these two neighborhoods have amazing Christmas light displays. Walking around River Oaks, seeing mansions lit up and going to Lights at the Heights where you will see lights and camaraderie. Southern hospitality? It’s all here.

4. Hunger Games. This will be happening world wide, but this will be one of the first things I do when I get back from the Philippines!! With Lalo, of course.

5. Rodrigo and Gabriela. Yes no explanation needed.

6. Use my Nikon. Every. Day. We shall be inseparable.

7. Two stepping is something he will do. I’m not so convinced it’s on my list per se. But I will be stepping out in faith. Faith that the girls and I will find a home. Faith that His will and provision overrule all things. Faith that his plans for me are greater than any plan I could ever concoct.

Blessed is the one who does not walk in step with the wicked or stand in the way that sinners take or sit in the company of mockers, but whose delight is in the law of the Lord, and who meditates on his law day and night. (Psalm 1: 1-3)

8. Complete and utter focus on Jesus. Me and Him this season. No one is getting in our way. We will focus on running and healthy relationships.

For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit set their minds on the things of the Spirit. (Romans 8:5)

9. Complete and utter obedience. I’m rebellious. He keeps wanting me to stay still and I want to flee, fly, and be busy.

But Peter and the apostles answered, β€œWe must obey God rather than men. (Acts 5:29)

I have chosen the way of faithfulness; I set your rules before me. (Psalm 119:30)

For this is the love of God, that we keep his commandments. And his commandments are not burdensome. (1 John 5:3)

10. Cultivate a heart of gratitude. To be thankful in the small and the big things. Like breathing and waking up.

And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. (Colossians 3:17)

Houston is the best city to live in, because it’s not a tourist trap. I can go everywhere in the world and be a tourist. But Houston? It’s home. Houston is where you live life with people. Houston is where you raise families. Houston is a place to stay grounded. There’s not much flashiness in Houston. It’s real. It’s authentic. I love so much about it. Even. The traffic. It’s just extra Jesus time for me. If you’re ever in town, let me know, I’d love to show you this city!

I can’t wait till Lalo gets here! T minus 2 days!

IMG_3695.JPG

Leave a Reply

