Eucharisteo

I have done a shoddy job at journaling. 

In this blog and in my personal journal.

There’s a lot of life to be caught up on. 

As I have been living life in the present, I cannot find the words to pen down my emotions.

But one thing I am learning in this season is gratitude. For all things. And I need to practice.

I am re-reading One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp. And one of my favorite quotes is:



The practice of giving thanks…eucharisteo…this is the way we practice the presence of God, stay present to His presence, and it is always a practice of the eyes. We don’t have to change what we see. Only the way we see.

So here we go, eucharisteo.

1. The smell of the flowers in my living room from my friend, Tashi’s, wedding. The sweet smell infiltrates our lives.

   

2. From a Letter to His Daughter  by Ralph Waldo Emerson:



Finish every day and be done with it.

You have done what you could.

Some blunders and absurdities

no doubt have crept in;

Forget them as soon as you can.

Tomorrow is a new day;

Begin it well and serenely

And with too high a spirit

To be cumbered  with 

your old nonsense.

This day is all that is good and fair.

It is too dear,

with its hopes and invitations

to waste a moment on yesterdays.

3. Reading leisurely on the couch at 10 pm on a work night.

4. The lasting effects of 9 second hugs almost 24 hours later.

5. The freedom to pray with a mighty group of Godly women in our living room. 

6. How you feel when you turn the pages of an actual book. Digital will never take its place. 

7. How strong emotional connections know no bounds. Not even the invisible lines that separate countries can hold back love.

8. How echoes of laughter can continue ringing through your bones

9. When the windows of my car vibrate due to the music

10. Pausing. 

Life is whizzing by quickly. And finding a way to chronicle it is becoming more important. 

But in order to find joy in the small things, you have to have the right perspective. And that is my deep and earnest prayer in this season. That I find joy in all things. 

Leave a Reply

