thirty

I sit here in awe at how fast time goes. I remember writing a post, wrapping up the amazing decade that was my twenties.And now, 31 is tomorrow. Technically, today in the Philippines.

I write, not because I’m good at writing. I write because I forget. Memory is a tricky thing. A few weeks ago, I went to get shots for a trip to Kenya. Before that appointment, I would have sworn up and down that I received shots with my primary doctor. There was no record in my medical records. It turns out, I went to the City of Houston.

Whoops.

So, I need to write to help future Marianne remember what exactly happened in her thirties.

Where do I even begin?

Thirty is when I started living my life completely surrendered to Jesus Christ.

Thirty is when I became completely content with singleness and making sure that I live out this season well and with joy!

Thirty is when I started to love in a deeper way I did not know was possible. Outside my comfort zone. #onelessstranger

Thirty is when I started to find creative outlets. Musically, visually, physically.

Thirty is when I was called to work at a job that brought me closer to serving His people, heart to heart and soul to soul.

Thirty is when gratitude became a part of my daily life.

Thirty is when I took my Nikon everywhere I went.

Thirty is when I got over my fear of public speaking. (ish)

Thirty is when I learned about rest. Sabbath rest.

Thirty is when I processed through really complicated emotions.

Thirty is when I learned about forgiveness.

Thirty is when I learned to accept healing.

Thirty is when I learned to laugh harder.

Thirty is when I stood up for myself. And surrounded myself with people who will stand up for me, when I don’t have the courage.

Thirty is when I became more courageous.

Thirty is when I became more aware of what my tribe of people look like.

Thirty is when I learned to love and appreciate the richness and loveliness that happens when you gather around the table.

Thirty is when I fell in love with the kitchen.

Thirty is when I got accepted into seminary.

Thirty is when I went back to Kenya and found my third home.

Thirty is when life and ministry converged out of a love for His people.

Thirty is when the possibilities of life became endless. Endless.

Thirty started endless adventures.

I do not have to do a single thing to live life to the fullest. All I have to do is hear His voice to tell me where to step next. He hasn’t steered me wrong. And he never will.

Cause my faith to arise, stand at attention. For You are calling me to greater things

Take me deeper where my feet could ever wander. And my faith will be made stronger. In the presence of my Savior.

Further and further my heart moves away from the shore. Whatever it looks like, whatever may come I am Yours.

 

I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. Galatians 2:20

Photo credit: Kayla Hand

Photo Credit: Carly O’ConnorPhoto credit: Kayla Hand

Eternally grateful for another year.

Many many more adventures to come!!

Leave a Reply

