a heart of adoration

Life is going at an exponential speed. I was writing out the rent check a few days ago and I realized it was AUGUST!

How did that happen???

I’m trying to reframe my life mid year. More lists. More goals.

BUT, something really exciting is happening!!! Something I never could have anticipated or planned.

A few weeks ago, I met with some members from my Kenya mission trip to process the trip at Hunt Retreat. Not only was the processing so needed in such a beautiful place, we had some quiet time to think through things.

IMG_2133 copy
Hunt Retreat by Brookshire, Texas

As I spent time with the Lord, words started to pour out of me. I wrote them down in my journal. I read and re-read the words. I didn’t know what it would be. What it could be.

As I shared these precious words with my nearest and dearest, the question came up. A poem? A song?

A song, Lord?

Three months ago, I could not even play the piano and sing at the same time. There’s no way you would want me to write songs.

Then he reminded me of a song I love. It’s called “My Prayer” by Bright City. I love the tenderness of this song. And I wanted to play it, but could not find the sheet music anywhere online. Then, the Lord said, “You play it. You can figure out the notes. Just listen.”

That Sunday, I sat down in front of the piano, trying to figure out a way to play the song precisely as it was written. As I tried to copy note by note and ended up in sheer frustration, The Lord gently reminded me,

 

Worship is not about perfection. Worship is about the posture of your heart.”

So I stopped. Trying to play every note, perfectly. Instead, I started to listen.

Within the hour, I figured out how to play the song.

I sat there, flabbergasted at what just happened. And I knew that if I could do that, The Lord would give me melodies to write a song he would like me to write.

I watched a TED talk (seen below) on what happens to your brain when you play an instrument.

whoa.

FIREWORKS?! Party?!

That’s just playing an instrument. What about singing while playing? What about w o r s h i p p i n g? Our Creator?

“Cause we’re alive alive alive and we’re singin’
We’re alive alive alive and we’re shakin’
We’re alive alive alive alive in You” – All Sons and Daughters

The past week, I have been figuring out notes to many songs I like. The fact that I am even able to do that is nothing short of miraculous.

I’ve also been learning to play songs by ear that the Lord nudges me to play. Songs that touch my heart. Such as Can’t Help Falling in Love and This Year’s Love. oh, what is it about love?

I think the most beautiful thing in the world is the infinite amount of ways to put notes together to make the most beautiful melodies. Here’s to learning the melodies, and with His help, making new ones. Ones with the posture of complete and sweet adoration. Here’s to the fireworks!

Shout triumphantly to the Lord, all the earth.
Serve the Lord with gladness;
come before Him with joyful songs.
Acknowledge that Yahweh is God.
He made us, and we are His —
His people, the sheep of His pasture.
Enter His gates with thanksgiving
and His courts with praise.
Give thanks to Him and praise His name.
For Yahweh is good, and His love is eternal;
His faithfulness endures through all generations.

Psalm 100

 

Leave a Reply

